Thursday, October 27, 2011
Knock, Knock Knockin' on '40's Door...
Monday, September 19, 2011
Seriously, people need to get a life...
However, when the controversy known as "OMG!!!! THERE IS A MAN WHO USED TO BE A WOMAN DANCING ON TV...THE WORLD WILL IMPLODE"
Well, not really.
The debate was when the latest cast was named to "Dancing with the Stars," Chaz Bono was named. Forget for a moment that you have a flaming Gay dude on there, or a ruthless, controversial former prosecuting attorney, or the daughter of sixties pop icons whose sister was predisposed to sex with their father... people are all over Chaz Bono.
Let's play catch up...
Chaz Bono was born Chastity to Sonny Bono and Cher. She came out years later as a lesbian, but in the end, became transgendered. Yeah--I know...confusing.
A lot of people are up in arms. OMG!! Especially this group called something like 100 Moms or some ridiculous crap like that. "How do we explain this to our children?" to "I will not watch it and protest ABC...blah blah blah."
Really?
See, this is the thing. Unless transgendered people are brought up regularly, I'm going to be blunt to these offended moms: if your child never knew that Chaz used to be Chastity, they aren't going to know. It's not like Chaz is showing off the chest scars where his breasts (as in female breasts) used to be, and he's not using some hot button to pop a boner. If I didn't know any better, I would say he was, well, a man.
This is where I think that these people need to get a severe clue. Really. I mean...we have far worse things in this world to worry about than whether Chaz used to be Chastity.
I may not watch this show but I am rooting all the way for Chaz.
Sunday, August 21, 2011
Someday, I may actually be able to juggle this all...
Once again, it has been a while. It's not like I don't write or don't like to write. To the contrary, I love to write. But I have different blogs, social networks and, well, unfortunately a life that doesn't always leave time for things, you know, like, writing.
Crap, I just sounded like a teen. Like, OMG!!! *roll eyes*
Jack is doing much better. Wednesday will be three weeks post-op. He is doing so much better. It's getting him back on his feet and feeling more secure in his actions. Right now, we're taking a sabbatical in Poulsbo--about twenty minutes from home. Sleeping on a couch is counter-productive and the bed, at least for a few nights, should help. Not to mention, I get something more normal than--the floor.
My cousing Jim got married. The Yount's were well represented by my aunt Maggie & Uncle Dave, and my awesome cousins--Annie & James. Thanks to Annie, I have gotten to not only see my new cousin, Jill, but my cousin Missy, who I haven't seen in ever so long. She is just like I remember her--
It's funny, but I agree with Annie: we need another reunion. I think the last one I went to was in either Walla Walla or California. I'm not sure which--which is weird for me. But now that I think about it, I'm sure it was California. I remember the train ride and I remember Annie sitting next to me--and me telling her it was time to sleep and to be quiet. Somehow, I doubt she remembers that.
We have such an age gap with the cousins--which I suppose goes back to the fact that my dad (the oldest) is fifteen years older than Annie's mom. Sort of like me and my siblings. My sister is the oldest of the cousins, Annie's little brother is the youngest--I believe (if I am not mistaken) an age difference of 27 years. I sort of fall in the middle--having four younger cousins.
But anyway...it is nice to see how a cousin looks.
Other fun stuff---
job search is off until weekly clinics/blood tests are done. Not that I'm totally stopping. But i'm slowing.
I hate being poor.
More later.
Sunday, April 17, 2011
Totally Have Neglected this yet again.
Monday, December 13, 2010
Long Time No Write
No, I'm going to make the wreath. I've collected what Mother Nature has littered about the yard, the road and a local elementery school and will, attempt for the first time in--21 years--to make a wreath. It wasn't hard, I just need the stupid wire to wrap the branches around the hanger with. If I could ever get myself motivated enough, there are ornaments to make, cookies to bake and ginger bread house to assemble and level 71 to be obtained on World of Warcraft...
Well, maybe the last thing isn't and shouldn't be that high on the list of priorities.
Updates...
Job searching has spawned a half dozen interviews and no bites. Even retail is a bane to my existence. Now that unemployment has run out--I'm on every ones good side. Saving won't last forever. Those who feel this is a long-ass vacation...y'all need to step aside and have reality smack you upside the head. I'm on a half reprise vacation until after Christmas.
However, I did send away for that "informative career guide" for going to LeCordon Culinary in Tukwilla. I've been tossing this around for a bit. Apparently, my gig as a counselor doesn't seem to be leading me to any exciting adventures...so maybe I should bite the bullet and go for something that I enjoy.
So--other than that...and I cannot wait until the Wide Release of "Black Swan" (ballet thriller with Natalie Portman, Winona Ryder, et al), I am chugging along at Mindy-Pace....fun and exciting!
Saturday, July 10, 2010
Team Fang or Team Fur? How about..Team Forks
Jack was wanting to see the new Predator movie. I'll give him that--though it is not my cup of tea. However, it was two hours starting while New Moon: Eclipse was starting in about 20 minutes. After actually walking away from the box office, then deciding to give it a whirl, we went to see Eclipse.
Mind you, I have the first three books. I'm up to about page 78 in Twilight. I have the basic idea of the storyline and such. Bella/Edward/Jacob, Human/Vampire/Werewolf, Lipstick/Sparkle/Fur...meh, I think a reader gets the idea.
The movie was entertaining, I'll give you that.
Yet--part of me was really wanting something more. I've read entertainment boards, anti-Twilight, pro-twilight...and some things have stuck with me. So I look at this now with an eye toward not exactly endorsing, or hacking it to death.
Rule #1 of Writing: Do Not Mary Sue It.
As a previous (and still dabbling) fan fiction writer, I recognize something immediately about writing. More often, you'll see this in reference to fan fiction, but it also seems to run in some "original" content. What is Mary Sue, you may ask. Small history lesson.
"Mary Sue" made her debut from as far as I can tell from the late 1960's..and one of the first TV series to be fan-fictionalized: Star Trek. At that time, usually the fiction was along the lines of what is called "Slash Fiction" (or hurt/comfort). Mostly, it dealt with the pairing of Kirk & Spock, but would fan out to the other characters from the series as well. For those who didn't see the swarthy Captain Kirk indulging in hot bath romps with the ever-sexy Vulcan, Mr. Spock, there became a new staple: Mary Sue.
Mary Sue wasn't exactly Kirk's flavor of the day, and remember, if it was considered female, Kirk was all over it like bees to honey. No, Mary Sue was that female crew member, slobbering quietly in the corners over the sexy, hunky, sometimes alien. Usually overlooked, inconspicuous, Mary Sue would inevitably end up in a situation where a main character was harmed and she saves their life. Or she suddenly found she had in her possession, some extraordinary power to save everyone--something which saves the day--because hey, Captain Kirk doesn't have all the answers, does he?
When it comes to fan fiction, there seems to be two camps: those who write the characters as we've been presented with, giving them scenarios that Hollywood writers seem to forget about (you know, real life), or we are given a character that main characters automatically fall for. Yep. Mary Sue (or in some cases, Jim Bob).
I once read that some people, even those who like Twilight, feel that Stephenie Meyer essentially wrote the ultimate Mary Sue novel: Twilight, and its sequels. I'll have to find it, or maybe it is too late, but one writer said if you take the general description of Bella Swan and that of Stephenie Meyer, it is basically Meyer writing herself into this cult-culture as herself--that Swan ='s Meyer.
May be a stretch, but it also may not.
The person who spent four and half years between two degrees, delving in to the human mind and some of the abuses it is put through, sees red flags. Yeah, it is supposed to be entertaining and I see it as that. However, Twilight is considered young adult fiction. Meant for youngsters whose hormones are now revved up and they think that everything in life should end up like the movies. It's the underlying themes that stand out.
Rule #2: We all want an Edward, but do we really?
Edward Cullen (and I'll give him this much), comes across as a gentleman. His description of how courting would be done when he became a Vampire was actually rather good. More teens should look at that as opposed to the flagrant "Oooh we're a couple, now take off your clothes..." boasts. I give him credit: where Bella goes from the uncomfortable discussion with her father about sex, precautions, to just short of ripping Edwards shirt off--well...dang. Bella seems off put by this.
While perceived as romantic, it is a bit more than that. I won't hit on the perceived pedophilia angle--because as we've seen--Vampires do not age. So if Edward is 100+ and Bella is 18...(we'll save this one). However, it is the other behaviors that I wonder about.

Edward watches her sleep, knows what she's been up to, who she has been with. It reminds me of a movie that came out years ago--the name escapes me, but it had Mark Wahlberg, Reese Witherspoon & Alyssa Milano. Boyfriend and he stalked.
It also seems a bit "Charmed" as well. Remember the Piper/Leo relationship. Let's not forget that in many ways--it was almost the same in some lines as Bella/Edward. Leo was a Whitelighter that was watching over the girls. I remember a line where Piper was disturbed to learn that Leo had been watching over her...since she was a baby. Recall--Leo was the man she fell in love with, married and had children with.
Edward has the charm of a Victorian, but watching over her to the point of watching her sleep. Where have you been, who have you been with? The line about how when she becomes one of them, she in essence gives up everyone she loves. We see this on talk shows and in the news. Tell tale signs of loser spouses (no, they aren't just men), keeps the other away from friends and family.
The more I think about it--
I described it as this last night: Bella/Edward/Jacob are pretty much Archie/Betty/Veronica.
Archie is our Bella. Awkward, but a pretty friendly person. He wants to be with Veronica (Edward) because she is beautiful, she's exciting, she has money, but when he wants companionable moments, he seeks Betty (Jacob) who is fun and sweet, but who he would drop in a moment if Veronica was available.
I dunno.
After being inaugurated in Twilight, I have to say I am Team Forks. My initial leanings are toward Jacob. He wouldn't force her to change to be with him. That is how ideally relationships in real life are: your other wouldn't change you to fit their life.
So for now, I will put down my keyboard, take up the charcoal & lighter fluid and think more about this phenomenon. Until then...
Mindy, up for a trashy read any day of the week...
Wednesday, June 16, 2010
So Far Away...
"Dad, you and mom need to be more vigilant about what you are doing; where you are, what is around you, how you are doing things. Neither of you are 40 anymore and haven't been in quite some time."
"I think I just realized that."
That is tough.
What is hard is being almost 70 years old. You don't want to see your older brothers name show up on the caller ID because:
a) he is in Kansas
b) the only time he calls is if it has to do with their mom.
Mom is in a place where she isn't sure what to do. Hospice RN gives grandma from today to three weeks from now. She just turned 95 and isn't in the best of shape. Fiesty yet, her body is just worn down & out. Mom & dad aren't briming with money, and neither are us kids. It'd be one thing if sis wasn't taking care of her grandson and I had a husband in pre-transplant phase. If things were different, I'd clean out my car and we'd marathon drive to Garden City, Kansas.
I want mom to go. She needs to be able to spend whatever precious time is left with grandma. Granted, grandma keeps calling my uncle "Johnny" (or Papa) who passed on 7 years ago, but dad got time with his mom before she passed away, mom should have that opportunity as well.
That may be my sticking point on being out of state. I want to be no more than seven hours driving in the case of my parents. I cannot fathom not being able to be Right. There. If I were rich, i would send her, first class, with accommodations paid for so she wouldn't have to worry.
Other than monitor some cigarette portioning, I have nothing more to give her than a shoulder.
Mindy, about to lose last remaining grandparent.